Ninth Anniversary with WordPress!

I’m very proud blogging with WordPress these past 9 years. What a victory for open source computing and freedom of expression. Did you know that one out of every four Web sites in the world today runs on WordPress?

Message from WordPress ūüėČ

Happy Anniversary with!
You registered on 9 years ago!
Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!


Born to Be Blue – Ethan Hawke

Spring 2016 offers jazz fans some great choices for famous trumpet player movies. I reported earlier on the Miles Davis biopic, Miles Ahead, starring Don Cheadle which opens April 1st in limited theaters (NY/LA). I am invited to attend the advance screening earlier in New York City as an IndieGoGo contributor but I have a schedule conflict that night darn it all.

I was just informed by the 92nd Street Y that Ethan Hawke will be appearing there with his new film about Chet Baker,¬†Born to Be Blue¬†on March 17th. He will conduct an interview after the screening. How cool is that ūüėČ

Reel Pieces with Annette Insdorf: Preview of “Born to Be Blue” and Conversation with Ethan Hawke

Date: Thu, Mar 17, 2016, 8 pm

Location: Lexington Avenue at 92nd St

Venue: Kaufmann Concert Hall

Price: from $32.00

Ethan Hawke stars as Chet Baker in this remarkably creative reimagining of the legendary jazz trumpeter’s struggle to overcome his drug addiction and stage a comeback.

Props To Metallica, Our Record Store Day 2016 Ambassador

This is HUGE! I am excited to share with my readers that Metallica has been chosen as Record Store Day 2016 Ambassador. Record Store Day 2016 will take place on Saturday April 16, 2016. 

For Record Store Day 2016, Metallica’s official release will be a special live CD, Libert√©, Egalit√©, Fraternit√©, Metallica!¬†– Live at Le Bataclan. Paris, France – June 11th, 2003, a live concert recording from the Paris theatre that became the focus of the world in November 2015.

Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité, Metallica! РLive at Le Bataclan. Paris, France РJune 11th, 2003 Track List:

1. “The Four Horsemen”
2. “Leper Messiah”
3. “No Remorse”
4. “Fade to Black”
5. “Frantic”
6. “Ride the Lightning”
7. “Blackened”
8. “Seek and Destroy”
9. “Damage, Inc.”

The Metallica specialty release allows the charitable donation of its proceeds to go to the Fondation de France’s Give For France Charity. This all fits into a larger theme for Record Store Day 2016 underscoring the relationship between U.S. record stores and our French counterparts, between Record Store Day and Disquaire Day, and between music/arts loving human beings in the United States, France and the World!



Metallica also discusses in the RSD 2016 video the upcoming deluxe reissues of their first two albums, Kill ‘Em All and Ride the Lightning, which feature previously unreleased demos, full live concerts and more. Those reissues will ¬†drop the day before, April 15th.

Lots to look forward to about Record Store Day 2016. Additional details to follow. Heavy Metal and Vinyl Lovers Unite!

Michael Shrieve’s Spellbinder is Pure Delight

Michael Shrieve’s Spellbinder

Featuring: Joe Doria (Hammond B3), Farko Dusomov (Bass), John Fricke (Trumpet), Danny Godinez (Guitars), and Michael Shrieve (Drums)

Label: Colorburst Soundfield, Total Length: 54:34

Michael Shrieve’s Spellbinder is a delightful instrumental album . It grabs your attention immediately with the fast paced opening track, “Pop¬†Raladrao”.

Michael Shrieve

Spellbinder’s cohesive experimental latin jazz forms a symbiotic relationship with the listener. Your musical tastebuds will acquire abundant sensory pleasure. Then be prepared to be transported to an expansive audio gallery.

Joe Doria
Danny Godinez






I enjoy the democratic balance each musician contributes as they take their logical turn weaving a well-constructed audio tapestry.

The band echoes the ¬†Miles Davis Electric period at times (“Bridge The Gap”). I hear strong references to¬†Stuff (“I Don’t Believe You”)¬†a¬†New York City-based jazz-funk band active in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

But make no mistake about how Spellbinder has branded its own unique sound. We had the good fortune six years ago to witness Spellbinder live at a club, ToST in the Fremont neighborhood of Seattle, Washington. I was impressed that night with how tight and rhythmic the band played. The maturity that Spellbinder evidences since is well-established throughout the eleven tracks.

Farko Dosumov

If you love jazz-fusion or any form of experimental jazz you owe it yourself to add ¬†Michael Shrieve’s Spellbinder¬†to your collection.

John Fricke







  1. Pop Raladrao
  2. One
  3. Renewal
  4. Darkside
  5. Deliverance
  6. Trilioini
  7. 1902
  8. I Don’t Believe You
  9. Grump
  10. Market
  11. Bridge The Gap

Larry Young In Paris: The ORTF Recordings

Resonance Records, in partnership with the National Audiovisual Institute (INA) of France, is pleased to announce the release of Larry Young In Paris/The ORTF Recordings. Presenting groundbreaking performances by jazz organist and pianist, Larry Young, these studio and live recordings from 1964 and 1965 made for French Radio and never before issued on record will be released on March 11, 2016 in deluxe 2-CD and limited edition 2-LP sets.

Track Listing
Disc One:

  • Trane of Thought (6:46)
  • Talkin¬í About JC (14:53)
  • Mean To Me (4:12)
  • La Valse Grise (16:09)
  • Discoth√®que (10:43)

Disc Two:

  • Luny Tune (4:36)
  • Beyond All Limits (7:36)
  • Black Nile (13:59)
  • Zoltan (20:31)
  • Larry¬ís Blues (6:13)

Producer Zev Feldman notes, “It¬ís particularly exciting because none of this music has ever been heard before except on its initial broadcast in France five decades ago. I think that¬ís something to celebrate and a call for us all ¬Ė as we often do with the archival recordings we at Resonance Records uncover ¬Ė to revisit and discuss this legendary artist¬ís legacy.”¬†

Major Release Highlights

  • First release of all previously unreleased Larry Young recordings in nearly 40 years.
  • Featuring the iconic jazz organist Larry Young with Woody Shaw (trumpet), Nathan Davis (saxophone), Billy Brooks (drums) & others.
  • Endorsed by the estate of Larry Young.
  • Extensive liner notes with essays and interviews by John McLaughlin, Dr. Lonnie Smith, John Medeski, Bill Laswell, Nathan Davis, Andre Francis, producer Zev Feldman, Larry Young III & Woody Shaw III.
  • Includes rare and previously unreleased photos from the Francis Wolff, Jean-Pierre Leloir and INA archives.
  • Tracks include an over 20-minute version of ¬ďZoltan,¬Ē ¬ďBeyond All Limits¬Ē from the classicUnity album, as well as other mid-1960¬ís songs including ¬ďTalkin¬í About J.C.¬Ē and ¬ďLuny Tune.¬Ē¬†

Larry Young’s son, Larry Young III, writes in his essay included in the album book, “In the decades since his death, more and more people have discovered the magnitude of his contribution to all of the genres of music in which he was a creative and trailblazing force. My father truly lit a fire, which is still burning, although he has been gone for almost four decades. His music is still relevant and fresh.”

Intel INMUSIC and the House of Gaga

The music technologist inside me is thrilled to see Intel entering into a multi-year partnership with The Recording Academy. The use of 3D Facial Projection Technique at the beginning of Lady Gaga’s tribute to David Bowie was innovative and compelling to experience.

Intel and the House of Gaga, have I believe, begun a mutual journey of expanding the vision of how technology will revolutionize live music. I envision greater collaborative efforts in the future which is what music needs to reach that next dimension of appreciation.

Bravo, Intel, House of Gaga and The Recording Academy, you have founded the new formula of creative, innovative excellence. We can’t wait to experience what you have in store for us next and beyond.