100 Best Selling Albums of the 70s – Hamish Champ

The 70s were an incredible period that produced many foundation music recordings. Hamish Champ has captured this explosive decade in a new book, 100 Best Selling Albums of the 70s.

I own 75% of the recordings listed in my collection. It was an exciting era where music sold in tonnage. Artists achieved multi-platinum sales (Platinum = 1 million albums sold). Arena rock became the new concert experience (the reason rock impresario Bill Graham closed his Fillmore East and West venues).

100 Best-selling Albums of the 70s

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

The New Jerusalem – Patti Smith

The New Jerusalem, the latest book by Patti Smith – poet, punk legend and author of the bestsellers Just Kids and M Train – is now available for order. A stunning long prose poem in the tradition of St. John and William Blake, The New Jerusalem presents a prophetic vision of art and humanity, faith, and freedom; a vision of escape from the rituals of power and the mechanisms of social control.

Illustrated with color photographs and artwork by Patti Smith, this beautiful hardbound volume is a true collector’s item and will be irresistible to bibliophiles. With an introduction by Rob Riemen exploring the connection between art and spirituality in Patti Smith’s poem and in art more broadly, The New Jerusalem can serve as a reminder of the prophetic power of poetry and a guide to all who need it in these times of resistance.

The New Jerusalem was presented at the Nexus Symposium with Patti Smith ‘An Education in Counterculture’,  May 26, 2018, in Amsterdam.

 

Grace: The Jeff Buckley Story!

I want to share the news about an exciting music book that will be available next year on April 23, 2019, Grace: The Jeff Buckley Story!  A graphic novel authored by Tiffanie DeBartolo with art by Pascal Dizin and Lisa Reist, First Second Books publisher.

I find the cover mesmerizing that Lisa colored and Pascal drew. The image is magically alluring and will entice readers to its pages. You can see more of their graphic art here.

Grace

Pascal and Lisa are partners who attended the School of Visual Arts in New York City (Class of 2008) and became friends with our son who is a graphics designer. It’s rewarding to see the book they worked on faithfully for nine years reach the publication stage. Pascal and Lisa were successful in securing the trust of Mary Guibert, Jeff Buckley’s mother and guardian of his estate. Mary was very hands-on in the creation of this book, so the authors had access to a terrific source of information about him.

Tiffanie DeBartolo is a novelist, filmmaker, and founder/CEO of independent record label Bright Antenna Records. The home to such artists as The Wombats, Mona, Flagship, Beware of Darkness, Middle Class Rut, Reuben Hollebon, and Cheerleader. Tiffanie authored the text for the Grace graphic novel.

I intend to write more about the book as time progresses and the publicity campaign is unveiled.

Right now I bide my time until there is an autographed hardcover edition sitting on my music library shelf, right Pascal and Lisa 😉

Been So Long: My Life and Music – Jorma Kaukonen

Jorma Kaukonen is the consummate journeyman. He tours constantly with Hot Tuna and on his own. I am amazed and thankful for the schedule he keeps at 77.

Somehow between the concerts, guitar teaching, Fur Peace Ranch, and the responsibilities of being a husband and father he found time to write his memoirs. No moss grows on him.

Been_So_Long_cover_art_728x11061

His words about achieving this accomplishment strike deep inside this verbal expressive.

“There are those who talk about writing books and those who actually do it”

This is a must-have book for the music book collection. Especially since Grace Slick wrote the foreword and Jack Casady authored the afterward.

Bravo Jorma! Long may you strum…

Been So Long: My Life and Music is available now for pre-order via Amazon and Barnes & Noble. It will be available on Aug. 28, 2018.

Johnny Cash: Forever Words – Available Friday April 6

Johnny Cash’s legend lives on in a unique collaboration project, Johnny Cash: The Music, Forever Words. 

The album co-produced by Johnny and June Carter Cash’s son, John Carter Cash, features music chosen from Johnny Cash’s handwritten letters, poems, and documents discovered after the deaths of his parents.

The album showcases Rosanne Cash, Johnny Cash’s eldest daughter, who interpreted her Dad’s “The Walking Wounded,” marking just the second time that she has collaborated on a record with her half-brother John Carter Cash.

Filmed by David McClister at Johnny Cash’s childhood home in Dyess, Arkansas (part of the Dyess Colony Heritage Site and Museum).

“Determining the artist for each song was truly a matter of the heart,” John Carter Cash said in a statement. “I picked the artists who are most connected with my father, who had a personal story that was connected with Dad. It became an exciting endeavor to go through these works, to put them together and present them to different people who could finish them in a way that I believed that Dad would have wanted.”

Johnny Cash: Forever Words
1. Forever/I Still Miss Someone – Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson
2. To June This Morning – Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves
3. Gold All Over the Ground – Brad Paisley
4. You Never Knew My Mind – Chris Cornell
5. The Captain’s Daughter – Alison Krauss and Union Station
6. Jellico Coal Man – T. Bone Burnett
7. The Walking Wounded – Rosanne Cash
8. Them Double Blues – John Mellencamp
9. Body on Body – Jewel
10. I’ll Still Love You – Elvis Costello
11. June’s Sundown – Carlene Carter
12. He Bore It All – Daily and Vincent
13. Chinky Pin Hill – I’m With Her
14. Goin’, Goin’, Gone – Robert Glasper featuring Ro James, and Anu Sun
15. What Would I Dreamer Do? – The Jayhawks
16. Spirit Rider – Jamey Johnson

Johnny Cash: Forever Words is the musical companion to the best-selling “Forever Words: The Unknown Poems,” a volume of Cash’s unpublished writing edited by Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Paul Muldoon and curated by John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz.

 

Hollywood Royale – Matthew Rolston

I love to report on and own music photography books. This book, Hollywood Royale from photographer Matthew Rolston caught my eye today.

Matthew Rolston started his career as a “discovery” of Andy Warhol for Interview magazine.

Soon after, he began shooting covers and editorial assignments for founding editor Jann Wenner of Rolling Stone, as well as for other established publications such as Harper’s BazaarVogueEsquireCosmopolitan, and The New York Times.

Vinyl . Album . Cover . Art: The Complete Hipgnosis Catalogue

The complete, definitive and never-before-published catalog of Hipgnosis, Vinyl • Album • Cover • Art finally does justice to the work of the most important design collective in music history, which, according to Roddy Bogawa, director of the documentary Taken by Storm (2011), ‘designed half your record collection’.

Founded in 1967 by Storm Thorgerson, Aubrey ‘Po’ Powell and Peter Christopherson, Hipgnosis gained legendary status in graphic design, transforming the look of album art forever and winning five Grammy nominations for package design.

Their revolutionary cover art moved away from the conventional group shots favoured by record companies of the day, resulting in the ground-breaking, often surreal designs which define the albums of many of the biggest names in the history of popular music: 10cc, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Peter Gabriel, The Police, Genesis, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Paul McCartney, Robert Plant, Syd Barrett, Throbbing Gristle, T. Rex, Wings, Yes and XTC, to name but a few.

Arranged chronologically, Vinyl • Album • Cover • Art features stunning reproductions of every single Hipgnosis cover – 372 in total – coupled with detailed information by Po and Storm Thorgerson on the artworks and the compelling stories behind their creation. Additional contributions by Peter Gabriel, Marcus Bradbury, and Pentagram’s Harry Pearce provide engrossing insights into the way these incredible artworks came into being; place the covers in a context, and reflect on their enduring impact on album design.