Happy Birthday David Bowie, Thank You For The Gift

David Bowie

Wishing David Bowie a Happy Birthday today. Thanking him for his latest artistic contribution, a brand new single and accompanying video  (Directed by Tony Oursler), “Where Are We Now?”.

It was leaked very nonchalant on the InterWeb this morning.

The new single is available on iTunes in 119 countries.

David Bowie will also be releasing a new album on March 12, 2013 titled The Next Day. The album is timed to coincide with the major retrospective exhibition coming to the Victoria & Albert Museum on 23 March, featuring handwritten lyrics, original costumes, fashion, photography, film, music videos, set designs and Bowie’s own instruments.

David Bowie in Aladdin Sane bodysuit. Photo by Masayoshi Sukita

You can pre-order The Next Day on iTunes  in one of two editions, Standard 14 tracks or Deluxe, 17 tracks 😉

  1. The Next Day
  2. Dirty Boys
  3. The Stars (Are Out Tonight)
  4. Love Is Lost
  5. Where Are We Now?
  6. Valentine’s Day
  7. If You Can See Me
  8. I’d Rather Be High
  9. Boss of Me
  10. Dancing Out In Space
  11. How Does the Grass Grow?
  12. (You Will) Set the World On Fire
  13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
  14. Heat
  15. So She (Bonus Track)
  16. I’ll Take You There (Bonus Track)
  17. Plan (Bonus Track)

David Bowie has relaunched his Website, http://davidbowie.com, which features some exciting new content. Golden Years 🙂


Dave Grohl’s Alegiance to Sound City Galvanizes His Music Direction

Little did everyone realize that when Dave Grohl announced at the Global Citizen Festival in Central Park NYC on September 30, 2012 that he was taking a hiatus from the Foo Fighters the significance of that pivot point in his music career.

Before playing ‘Learn To Fly’, the group’s fourth song of the night, Grohl said: “Without making a big deal out of it, we
don’t have any shows after this. This is it, man. Honestly I don’t know when we’re gonna do it again…and this is the perfect place to do it.”

Krist Novoselic, Paul McCartney, Dave Grohl

Dave Grohl has been incredibly busy since that event. He played drums at the Kennedy Center Honors for Led Zeppelin on December 3rd. He appeared with Sir Paul McCartney and members of Nirvana at 12-12-12 and then on the Christmas SNL show.

Sound City Studios

Dave has produced a labor of love movie about Sound City Studios in Los Angeles, California, Sound City. This studio has been the birthplace of many of the greatest recordings in rock and roll history. The studio has since closed but we get to visit it once again through the miracle of  the camera lens.

I really feel like SOUND CITY is my life’s most important work. I hope you do too. – Dave Grohl

Tom Petty, Johnny Cash, Rick Rubin, Copyright Kevin Estrada

Sound City

There is a companion motion picture soundtrack, Real to Reel with many new tracks recorded through the 1970’s Neve Sound Board Dave Grohl purchased from Sound City Studios.

The making of this film and the soundtrack initiates the nucleus of an innovative sound direction for Grohl and friends.

Dave Grohl will debut a new supergroup, named Sound City Players, at this year’s Sundance Film Festival, where the Sound City movie will début reports Rolling Stone. The track listing above gives a good sign as to who that new supergroup may feature 😉

2013 promises to be an extremely busy and productive year for Dave Grohl. He will deliver the keynote speech at this year’s South By Southwest festival in Austin, Texas on March 14. He will also be drumming on the forthcoming Queens Of The Stone Age album.

R. Crumb Articulates The Blues

R. Crumb‘s influence on my art and blues music tastes started in 1968 with Cheap Thrills the second album from Big Brother and the Holding Company.

Crumb had originally intended his art for the LP back cover, with a portrait of Janis Joplin to grace the front. But Joplin who was an avid fan of underground comics, especially the work of Crumb, so loved the Cheap Thrills illustration that she demanded Columbia Records place it on the front cover. It is number nine on Rolling Stone’s list of one hundred greatest album covers.

I value R. Crumb’s insightful articulation of the blues.  He has created various collectibles which uniquely educate and tell us about the blues. One such collectible is the Heroes of the Blues Trading Cards.

The trading cards complement the book, R. Crumb Draws The Blues, in which his homage to the life of Delta bluesmen Charley Patton, is beautifully rendered. Almost of comparable quality is the story of jazzman Jelly Roll Morton‘s struggle with a career-damaging voodoo curse. Crumb’s fondness for pre-war (WWII) country and blues records predominates this title.

If this type of content peaks your interest in R. Crumb as an album art graphics designer, may I also suggest, R. Crumb: The Complete Record Cover Collection. For music/album cover fans (like myself) this is one of Robert Crumb’s finest books.

I also discovered that R. Crumb is very good friends with Eden & John’s East River String Band. He has illustrated three of their covers and plays mandolin on their latest album, Be Kind to A Man When He’s Down.


Andy Warhol’s The Factory – Men In Black 3

I saw Men In Black 3 last night. My favorite sequence was when they went back in time to Andy Warhol’s The Factory. Bill Hader of SNL fame portrays Andy Warhol. Wouldn’t you just love to have been part of that experience for just a little while, witnessing The Velvet Underground with Lou Reed?

Bill Hader as Andy Warhol in Men in Black 3 (2012)

Natalie Maines – Mother

Natalie Maines stopped by The Howard Stern Show today. I was surprised and pleased to learn she is an official Howard Stern Celebrity Superfan 🙂

Natalie Maines@1NatalieMaines

If you don’t like Howard Stern then you shouldn’t follow me.

Natalie performed the song, “Mother” (Pink Floyd) live in the studio with Fred Norris playing guitar. I love the edge she creates for this progressive rock classic from The Wall.

Copyright 2013 howardstern.com

Mother will be available as a track on West of Memphis: Voices of Justice which I reported about yesterday.

Mother is also the name of the new rock solo album by Natalie Maines, produced by her friend and fellow musician, Ben HarperMother, the album will release on May 7, 2013, Mothers Day 😉

Here is the YouTube video of Natalie Maine performing “Mother” with Ben Harper and his band from last summer.

West of Memphis: Voices for Justice

West of Memphis: Voices of Justice is an album of music from and inspired by the new documentary, West Memphis Three. Your purchase of this album will in part directly benefit the West Memphis 3. The album becomes available on January 15, 2013. Pre-order here

West of Memphis: Voices For Justice – Track Listing

1. Henry Rollins (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score) – Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 9
2. Natalie Maines – Mother
3. Lucinda Williams – Joy
4. Camp Freddy – The Jean Genie
5. Tonto’s Giant Nuts feat. Johnny Depp & Bruce Witkin – Little Lion Man
6. Marilyn Manson – You’re So Vain
7. Band of Horses – Dumpster World (Live)
8. Citizen Cope – DFW
9. Eddie Vedder – Satellite
10. Bill Carter – Anything Made of Paper
11. The White Buffalo – House of Pain
12. Bob Dylan – Ring Them Bells
13. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis – West of Memphis Score Suite
14. Tonto’s Giant Nuts feat. Johnny Depp (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis original score) – Damien Echols Death Row Letter Year 16

15. Patti Smith – Wing (Recorded Live at Voices For Justice Benefit Concert – August 28, 2010)

16. Bill Carter – Road to Nowhere

The movie poster for ‘West of Memphis,’ a documentary that stars Damien Echols, Lorri Davis, Jason Baldwin, Jesse Misskelley, Jr., and Pam Hicks